Keep the hands of the Feudal Twenty-Six off our federal farm subsidies!

Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
Badlands Journal editorial board

Let’s tell the richest farmers in the poorest states to keep their hands off federal farm subsidies and crop insurance.

This is a list of the 26 states whose governments have refused to join the federal government’s Affordable Care Act program to expand Medicaid, paired with the amount of their federal farm subsidies from 1995-2010. These are the states where some people carry signs saying telling the federal government to keep its hands of their Medicare.  The top 10 percent of agribusinesses average about three-quarters of the federal farm pork overall but the figure rises over 80 percent once we dip below the Mason-Dixon Line (except Florida). This list also includes most of what the Wall Street Journal regards as the poorest states in the nation in 2013 (Michael B. Sauter et al, Sept. 19, WSJ) as well as some of the richest like New Jersey and Virginia.



Farm subsidies 1995-2010 (including crop insurance)

EWG Farm Subsidy Database




The Feudal 26

Alabama                                                    $884 million

Alaska                                                         $906,000

Arkansas                                                    $1 billion

Florida                                                        $2.77 billion

Georgia                                                       $6.63 billion

Indiana                                                        $10.3 billion

Kansas                                                         $16.4 billion

Louisiana                                                    $5.58 billion           

Maine                                                           $253 million

Mississippi                                                  $8.16 billion

Missouri                                                       $10.2 billion

Montana                                                       $6.59 billion

Nebraska                                                      $16.4 billion

New Jersey                                                   $234 million

North Carolina                                            $5.47 billion

North Dakota                                               $14.9 billion

Ohio                                                                $7.79 billion

Oklahoma                                                      $6.21 billion

Pennsylvania                                                $2.03 billion

South Carolina                                              $1.9 billion

South Dakota                                                 $11.1 billion

Tennessee                                                       $3.67 billion

Texas                                                                 $27.3billion

Virginia                                                             $1.92 billion

Wisconsin                                                         $7.06 billion

Wyoming                                                           $758 million

| »

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Copy the characters (respecting upper/lower case) from the image.

To manage site Login